top of page

That Weird Al Post I Promised

I am unbelievably excited for "Weird Al" Yankovic's upcoming tour, "The Ridiculously Self-Indulgent, Ill-Advised Vanity Tour." As much as I love Al's usual tours (my very first concert was on the "Poodle Hat" tour, and I was devastated last year when my T-shirt from that concert finally fell apart), I am so interested in this new idea, to play mostly his own original songs

And because I feel the need to make a list about everything:

Favorite “Weird Al” Yankovic Songs

(I Tried to Just List 10, and Look How That Turned Out)

Common themes – incredibly violent imagery, anti-love songs, narrators who are either ignorant of how awful they are or else obsessively enthusiastic about things that deserve neither enthusiasm nor obsessiveness, story songs (and deconstructions thereof)

I classify Weird Al songs into four types: straight parodies (where he parodies a specific song by a particular artist; what poorly-informed people think all his songs are); style parodies (where he creates a song that could have been composed by a particular band or artist); polkas (where he mashes together a bunch of songs with a polka rhythm and accordion accompaniment); and original comedic songs.

My favorites list is heavy on the originals and style parodies, with only one polka and no straight parodies.

RSS Feed
Featured Post
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
Archive
bottom of page